Hall, Kustra-Nelson Headline Year End Awards

Hawks Captain Dylan Zeke gives the Toast to the Parents (Bailey Gilmore/ charleswoodhawks.org)

Hawks Captain Dylan Zeke gives the Toast to the Parents (Bailey Gilmore/ charleswoodhawks.org)

On Wednesday night the Charleswood Hawks held their annual awards banquet to put the formal end to their 48th season of Junior Hockey in the MMJHL. Despite coming up short of the end goal of a league championship  – this team gave it their all right until the final whistle of game 6 with some amazingly gritty individual performances along the way. The team finished with a respectable 30-11-4 record on the season and made it to the semifinals despite some injuries to key members of the team. All of this was celebrated while enjoying some great food and inspiring words from a host of individuals, the Hawks also recognized the outstanding performances of a number of their own on this evening.  The full list of award winners recognized on Wednesday is as follows (click on player name for photo):

The Charleswood Hawks tank you for all of you support in 2017-18 and look forward to seeing you all again this coming September!

Raiders take 2017-18 MMJHL Playoff Crown

c7b179d516a74748505673b872780858The Charleswood Hawks send their congratulations to the MMJHL’s Raiders Junior Hockey Club on taking both the McKenzie and Moug Trophies in 2017-18 for being both regular season and playoff champions respectively. The Raiders took the best of 7 MMJHL Playoff Finals with a convincing 8-2 drubbing of the Transcona Railer Express on Tuesday Night at Ed Golding Arena. Led by Nicolas Mathews who led the playoffs in scoring with 25 points including 4 game winners in just 13 games, the Raiders to dispatched of the Express in the finals by a 4-1 margin. Again, the Hawks send their congratulations and enjoy it while it lasts…we are gunning for you next year!