Hawks Year End Banquet Highlights…

The Hawks put an official end to the 2021-22 season with their annual banquet this past Thursday night at Breezy Bend Golf and Country Club. A special thanks goes out to Charleswood Hawks alumni and current Winnipeg Jets Senior Director of Hockey Communications Scott Brown, who acted as Master of Ceremonies for the evening. Scott did a great job challenging the team to the team to think about the importance of what it means to be a Hawk and to take advantage season to come with the young squad we iced for the 2021-22 season. Long overdue thanks to COVID, this was actually the first time in 3 long years that we were able to host the banquet and recognize our graduating players from those seasons.

2019-20 Season

  • Spencer Ferbers
  • Max Gardiner
  • Ryan Hall
  • Taylor Opperman
  • Cam Petras
  • Nolan Sekundiak
  • Joben Smith

2020-21 Season

  • Max Fisher
  • Thomas Hansell
  • Mitch Justl
  • Matt Lawrence
  • Sam Maxwell
  • Sean Robinson
  • Patrick Robinson

2021-22 Season

  • Tanner Mulligan
  • Eric Samyn
  • Ben Wicha

The evening also gave us a chance to recognize our team award winners for our 7 major trophies. The winners were as follows:

Salisbury House Most Valuable PlayerEthan Lewis

Sorrentos 3 Star AwardEric Samyn

Headingley Grill Coaches AwardLucas Humble

MLT Aikins Rookie of the Year Cam McDonald

Most Improved PlayerIan Macdonell

Thirsty Lion Iron ManBen Zander

Wayne Deschouwer Award of Excellence Jake Hruska & Ben Wicha

Last, but definitely not least it should be noted that first year Hawks Head Coach Will Kinsman was recognized as MMJHL Coach of the Year on Sunday. After a very tough first half of the season, Will did a masterful job of getting the team back on track in the second half registering 12 wins to sneak into the playoffs. Congratulations Will! We can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve for the 2022-23 season!