2018 Hawks Presidents Awards

Before the game on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2018 the Hawks had a chance to add two more players to the Hawks Presidents Club, which recognizes graduating players who play their last eligible junior hockey game wearing the Red, White, and Black of the Charleswood Hawks. Players are given the gift of a custom plaque that lists each and every teammate they played with during their time with the team. In addition, their name is added to the President’s Plaque, which is on permanent display in the lobby of Eric Coy Arena. When asked what stands out about these 2 additions Hawks president Wayne Deschouwer replied very quickly with “the fact that they are genuine, good young men that will be successful in any future endeavor they choose to tackle.”  So, without further adieu here is a little more on the 2 inductees…

The first player recognized on January 3rd was Mike Lorange who played in 5 separate seasons with the Hawks after coming to the team from the Kelvin Clippers High School program in 2011. He was a key piece to the Hawks Art Moug Trophies in 2012-13 and 2016-17. He played 198 regular season games as a Hawk putting up an amazing 104 goals and 92 assists for 196 points.  One year removed from junior hockey sees Mike currently enrolled in school across the Atlantic Ocean in Ireland working towards his Law degree.


lorange stats

lorange presidents

Wayne Deschouwer Honouring Mike Lorange with a Hawks Presidents Award (D.Mahussier/1812 Photography)

The second player recognized on January 3rd was Beau Zelenewich who came to the Hawks from the Kelvin Clipper High School program before playing 3 seasons for the Red, White, and Black.  He first joined the Hawks for their post-season run in the 2012-13 season and never looked back suiting up in 96 regular season contests for the Hawks while notching 15 goals and 30 assists for 45 points. Beau is currently finishing up his training to become a journeyman electrician at Red River College with junior hockey behind him.


zelenewich stats

zelenewich presidents

Wayne Deschouwer Honouring Beau Zelenewich with a Hawks Presidents Award (D.Mahussier/1812 Photography)



Big Hawks vs. Little Raiders Outdoor Game!

rp winter carnivalOn Monday, January 15th at 6pm as part of the kick off activities for the 69th annual Roblin Park Winter Carnival your Charleswood Hawks have been challenged by the 7 & 8 year old Roblin Park Raiders Hockey team. This game will be your very first chance to take a look at  the Hawks of the next decade and is not to be missed as it will make everyone forget all about the Canada-USA World Junior game this year in Buffalo (with hopefully less snow)! This event is always a fun time for everyone involved and goes down every year as one of the favourite events on the calendar for the Hawks players. Don’t miss this great event on Monday at 6pm supporting one of our local Charleswood Community Centres!

Roblin Park Winter Carnival 3

Charleswood Hawks at the 2017 Roblin Park Winter Carnival (www.charleswoodhawks.org Archive)


Hall Named Goalie of the Month for December

Ryan Hall DecemberThe Hawks Ryan Hall was named the Emco Corporation MMJHL Goaltender of the month again ifor December marking the third straight month he has taken the nod. Hall put up another solid month between the pipes in December helping the Hawks to a 7-0 record. He has continued to be a driving force for the Hawks while posting league leading statistics in GAA (1.12), Save Percentage (0.963), and Shutouts (6).